Heading 3

Drag Strip List

A Comprehensive Encyclopedia

HOME
LOCATION
MEMORIES
ABOUT
CONTACT

TEXAS

125171013
Charlie Adams's highboy roadster at the first-ever drag race at Caddo Mills airport, 1951. Photographer unknown, from KKrod
Montague County Fairgrounds (Bowie) (1948)
Caddo Mills Drag Strip (1951)
Eagle Mountain Lake National Guard Base (1953)
Fannin Airport (1953)
Faysville Airport (1953)
Kerrville Airport (1953)
Lake Wichita Airport (1953)
Mercedes "Drag Strip" (1953)
Texas City "Drag Strip" (1953)
Wheeler Highway Drag Race Track [Old Pampa Airfield] (1953)
Abilene Municipal Airport (1954)
Borger "Drag Strip" (1954)
Dallas "Drag Strip" (1954)
El Paso "Drag Strip" (1954)
Greater Southwest Dragway (Fort Worth) (1954)
Laguna Madre Airstrip (1954)
Marshall Womack Farm (Slate Shoals) (1954)
Martindale Auxiliary Landing Field (San Antonio) (1954)
Midland Air Terminal (1954)
Randolph Air Force Base (1954)
Tradewind Airport (Amarillo) (1954)
Waldron Air Field (Corpus Christi) (1954)
Wall Drag Strip/Sportsman Park Raceway/San Angelo Dragway (1954)
Webb Air Force Base (Big Spring) (1954)
Cherry Racing Arena (Paris) (1955)
Forest Hill Drag Strip (Fort Worth) (1955)​
Gillespie County Airport (Fredericksburg) (1955)
Hale Center "Drag Strip" (1955)
Hogg Island "Drag Strip" (1955)
Midland Airpark (1955)
Yello Belly Drag Strip (Grand Prairie) (1955)
Clear Springs Air Strip (New Braunfels) (1956)
Dalhart "Drag Strip" (1956)
Double Eagle Drag Strip/San Antonio Drag Raceway (1956)
Ellington Air Force Base (1956)
Gibbs Field Airport (Fort Stockton) (1956)
Grapevine "Drag Strip" (1956)
Lubbock Teenage Park (1956)
Midway Speedway/Drag Strip (Gatesville) (1956)
Nance Circle-N Drag Strip (Weaver) (1956)
​North Richland Hills Drag Strip (1956)
Palo Duro Airport (1956)
Pampa "Drag Strip" (1956)
Prairie Hill Dragway (1956)
Road Angels Drag Strip (Gatesville) (1956)
Rogers Airport (Cameron) (1956)
Temple "Drag Strip" (1956)
Val Verde County Airport (1956)
Winnsboro Drag Strip/East Texas Speedway (1956)
Aransas County Airport (Rockport) (1957)
Camp Bowie (1957)
Castroville Municipal Airfield (1957)
Cavalier's Drag Strip (Vernon) (1957)
Corpus Christi "Drag Strip" (1957)
Enchantment Park (El Paso) (1957)
Foster Field (Victoria) (1957)
Freeway Drag Strip (Dickinson) (1957)
Lake Waco Drag Strip (1957)
Laredo "Drag Strip" (1957)
Moore Field Auxiliary Air Strip/Edinburg Raceway (1957)
Red River Drag Strip/Wichita Raceway Park (1957)
Bruce Field (Ballinger) (1958)
Cedar Hill Drag Strip (1958)
Oak Hill Downs Speedway (Austin) (1958)
Sweetwater "Drag Strip" (1958)
Temple Drag Strip/Little River Dragway (Academy) (1958)
Abernathy Municipal Airport (1959)
Circle Drag Strip (Dallas) (1959)
Marfa Air Base (1959)
Scorpion Drag Strip (McKinney) (1959)
Fly-N-Fish Lodge Airport (Uncertain) (1950s)
Hitchcock NAS Blimp Base (1950s)
Latch Airstrip (Gilmer) (1950s)
Amarillo Dragway (1960)
Ascarate Park (El Paso) (1960)
Fort Hood Dragway (Killeen) (1960)
Green Valley Raceway (North Richland Hills) (1960)
Harlingen Air Base (1960)
Palacios Municipal Airport (1960)
Poole's Airstrip (Gilmer) (1960)
Rodd Field (Corpus Christi) (1960)
Tye Air Base (Abilene) (1960)
Golden Triangle Drag Strip (Beaumont) (1961)
Interstate 20 Raceway/Tyler Dragways (1961)
Rio Grande Valley Drag Strip (Harlingen) (1961)
S&N Dragway/Texas Raceway (Kennedale) (1961)
Sidewinder Dragway (Pampa) (1961)
Stracener's Drag Strip (Bettie) (1961)
Sunland Dragway (El Paso) (1961)
Commerce Municipal Airport (1962)
Edinburg Drag Strip (1962)
Harker Heights "Drag Strip" (1962)
Mustang Drag Strip (Waco) (1962)
Pecos County Airport (Fort Stockton) (1962)
Six Flags Dragway (Victoria) (1962)
South Texas Dragway (Houston) (1962)
Whitehouse Drag Strip (1962)
Greenbelt Drag Strip (Quanah) (1963)
Top O' Texas Dragway (Pampa) (1963)
Abilene Dragway (1964)
Breckenridge "Drag Strip" (1964)
Paris Drag Strip (1964)
Texoma Dragstrip (Whitesboro) (1964)
Brazos Valley Dragway (Mineral Wells) (1965)
Childress Drag Strip (1965)
Eastex Dragway (Porter) (1965)
Pan-American Raceway (El Paso) (1965)
Seabreeze Drag Strip (Corpus Christi) (1965)
Andrews County Airport (Andrews) (1966)
Austin Raceway Park (1966)
Hallsville Drag Strip (1966)
Odessa Raceway Park/Penwell Raceway (1966)
Pyote Dragway (1966)
Como/Midway Drag Strip (1967)
Lufkin Drag Strip (1967)
Big Bend Drag Strip (Alpine) (1968)
Big Spring Drag Strip (1968)
Corpus Christi Drag Raceway (1969)
Dallas International Motor Speedway (1969)
El Paso International Dragway/Thunder Alley Dragway (1969)
Collette's Drag Strip (Dayton) (1960s)
Fischer Farm "Drag Strip" (Pilot Point) (1960s)
Irving "Drag Strip" (1960s)
​Hondo Drag Raceway (1970)
Edinburg International Speedway (1972)
Lubbock Dragway (1972)
Texas World Speedway (College Station) (1973)
Alamo Dragway (San Antonio) (1974)
Redline Raceway (Caddo Mills) (2001)
Dolaca Motorplex (Meadow) (2002)
Angleton Dragway/Raceway (2003)
Cherokee County Motorsports Park (Rusk) (2004)
Desert Thunder Raceway (Midland) (2005)

Abernathy Municipal Airport

  • Years of Operation: 1959-60

NHRA-sanctioned races were held every fourth Sunday on the runway of the airport at Abernathy. $1 was charged for admission. One of the first, if not the first race, was held on April 5, 1959. Races were sponsored by the Tri-City Drag Association on the fourth Sunday. The airport strip was called Tri-City Drag Strip in Car Craft (July 1959). The airport was built as an auxiliary airfield in 1943 and given to the city of Abernathy for civilian use after the war. At the August 23, 1959 race, the top eliminator was awarded a pair of racing slicks. Middle eliminator got a Bell helmet and little eliminator got traction masters. Lee Christian of Lubbock donated the prizes. By at least October 1959 the strip's NHRA sanction had been taken away because of "improper proceedings."
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Abilene Dragway

  • Years of Operation:  1964-75

The paved strip, 70 feet wide and 3,800 feet long, was located six miles south of Abilene on the west side of U. S. Highway 83 on a mesa. "Old Timer," who is an expert at locating old drag strip locations, situated it northeast of the intersection of Bell Plains Road and County Road 336. It is parallel with the county road and about 250 feet east of it. There are houses built adjacent to the old remnant track and also out-buildings built right on the old track. An unpaved road led to the track from the highway. The track featured an additional 1,500 feet of graded, but unpaved surface for additional shutdown area. Robert H. McDaniel, Jr. was the owner-manager of the NHRA sanctioned strip when it opened for its first race on Sunday, October 18, 1964. The grand opening was held the following week on October 25. They featured a couple of match races, one between two fuel dragsters and the other was Super Stockers Gene Snow versus Kelly Chadwick. By 1966 the strip record was held by Bobby Langley at 214.78 MPH in 7.7 seconds. In 1968, O. B. Barrett bought the strip, renaming it Big Country Raceway. The opening race that season, sanctioned by NHRA, was held on July 14, 1968. Barrett was a drag racer and owner of a body shop in Abilene.On March 19, 1972, the Dyess Drag Club conducted its opening meet on the old dragway, renamed Big Country Dragway. They focused on bracket racing and grudge racing. In the winter months through May, they held races on Sunday afternoons. From early May to September, they held races on Saturday nights. Steve Lindsey was the strip owner/operator in 1973. On Saturday  night, May 5, 1973, Pete Todoroff beat thirteen other Pro Stockers in his '72 Camaro, clocking a strip record 9.99 ET at 138 MPH. On Sunday, December 2, 1973, Andy White upped the Pro Stock track record in his Vega with a 9.74 ET.  Phil Nichols, owner of Rebellion Racing, Inc., leased and remodeled Big Country in 1974, renaming the track Steamboat Mountain Dragway. The opening race was held March 10, 1974, under NHRA sanction. In March and April, they raced on the second and fourth Sundays. Nichols, a ten-year veteran of racing, held seven AHRA world records at different times. He and his wife, Shay, made substantial improvements to the track in 1974.  Shay helped manage the track, but had to opt out when her drag racing career driving her pro stock racer became too demanding. Research found no information after 1975.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
October 18, 1964
125171013
125171013
June 22, 1974
May 5, 1973
  • Years of Operation: 1954-57

The Key City Saints, an Abilene car club, began conducting drag races at the old Abilene Municipal Airport in 1954. The first race of which details are known happened on September 19, 1954. Drivers were expected to enter from Dallas, Fort Worth, Houston, and San Antonio. In 1954, it was one of five NHRA-sanctioned drag strips in Texas. The airport was built in the 1930s and by the mid-1940s, had four concrete runways. The airport was abandoned by 1954, with the construction of the new Abilene Municipal Airport (presently serving Abilene) to the south. The Abilene Zoo sits on the site of the old airport. In 1955, The Key City Timing Association, with 20 club members, conducted races at the airport. They drew about 40 cars to their May 15 race, collecting entry donations at the gate. Although the Abilene Police Department had a policy to not sponsor outside groups, they unofficially favored the drag racing program being conducted by the association. In May 1956, the Stockers and Road Angels car clubs sponsored the drag races, running every Sunday, no matter how hot the temperature on the northeast runway. In fall 1956, the Key City Timing Association continued conducting the Sunday racing events. On November 25, 1956, they stopped using the northeast runway and switched racing to another runway. They did this to conform to NHRA policy that only sanctioned quarter-mile race tracks. Heretofore, racing had only been timed on a .2 mile strip at the old airport. The new strip was on land that was being leased from the city of Abilene by a farmer. He was willing to let the land be used for drag racing if they confined it to Sunday only. Racing was conducted by the Road Angels, Stockers, and the Road Jokers hot rod clubs, all affiliated and sponsored by the YMCA. They scattered telephone poles, railroad ties and other debris across the old drag strip runway to prevent drag racing on it. Up until August 18, 1957, all races had been timed with stopwatches, but they purchased Chrondek timing equipment with gate receipts for the racing. In April 1957, the Key City Timing Association was granted permission to hold races on the north-south runway by Abilene's Park and Recreation Board. The city had transferred ownership of the old airport to the park board, which said that the drag racing agreement was only temporary since they had plans to develop the area into a park. On April 14, 1957, Jerry Berdien set a new track record with a 15.2 second run in his C/G 1957 Corvette. In 1960, the Key City Saints did their drag racing at the old Tye Air Base (see below).

Abilene Municipal Airport

125171013
September 19, 1954
125171013
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
October 17, 1954

Alamo Dragway (San Antonio)

  • Years of Operation: 1974-mid-1990s

Leroy Friesenhahn bought the tract of land on the Poteet Highway and went into partnership with brothers, Dee, Johnny, and Joe Martinez to build a first-class drag strip. The opening day for this track was Sunday, February 3, 1974. Contemporary directions gave its location as five miles south of Loop 410 on Texas State Highway 16 and Watson Road. It was sanctioned from the beginning by AHRA, and filled the vacuum when the San Antonio Drag Raceway closed three years previously. The track was 60 feet wide and 3,400 feet long, with steel reinforced concrete guardrails. Races were held every Sunday. The pent-up desire for the return of drag racing attracted 15,000 people to the first race. Track officials had only expected 5,000. Harry Urbach set the fastest time of the day in his AA/FD with a run of 6.96 seconds. In November 1976, the Edwards-Holley "Jaws" AA/FD beat Don Garlits in a match race, setting a new track record in the process at 6.17 seconds. In 1977, Alamo Dragway hosted the 4-day AHRA Summer Nationals on June 30-July 3. Gary Beck won Top Fuel and Dale Emery beat Ed McCulloch to take Funny Car. Estimated attendance over the four days was 56,000 people. On June 19-22, 1980, Alamo hosted the AHRA Nationals. With over $100,000 in prize money, it attracted the likes of Don Prudhomme, Don Garlits, Shirley Muldowney, Tom McEwan, and Bill Jenkins. Over 70,000 spectators attended during the course of racing. AHRA returned to Alamo for the 25th annual Nationals on June 25-28, 1981. The AHRA Nationals was held at Alamo again in 1982 and 1983. The strip closed when San Antonio Raceway opened in Marion, on the northeast outskirts of San Antonio.
 
125171013
Alamo Dragway marked as "Racetrack" on 1992 topo map
125171013
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
Alamo Dragway, adjacent to and just west of speedway oval, 1986  aerial photo
CLICK HERE to see 8mm video footage of Alamo Dragway, June 1975, 6:31 minutes, no sound/music only

Amarillo Dragway

  • Years of Operation: 1960-present

News reports in May 1959 stated that construction would begin soon on a $100,000 drag strip south of Amarillo. The directions gave it as being a mile west and two miles south of the old helium plant (West Amarillo Blvd. and Helium Road). This would have placed it about ten miles northwest of the actual location where it was built. The news report stated that its tentative opening date would be June 21, 1959. As the strip didn't open until spring 1960, we conclude that a problem developed with the initial location. They must have had to search for a another place to build in 1959; thus the delay. The May 1959 article stated that they planned on racing on Saturday nights and on Sunday. They planned on building a 4,000 foot asphalt strip. Forrest and Ernest  Walker were the strip's organizers. The strip opened for the first race on Sunday May 15, 1960. It was located where it is today on Burlington Road, about a mile west of Washington Street on an 85-acre plot of land. At the time it opened, there was a large turkey farm to the west. Races were held every Sunday in 1960 and drew from 1,000 to 2,000 spectators weekly. Newspaper ads in 1961 touted the strip as being the "smoothest" in Texas. The Texas Panhandle Timing Association conducted the NHRA-sanctioned races on the second Sunday in 1961. On June 29-30, 1963, the NHRA South Central Divisional Championships drew 9,000 spectators on the final day. There were 467 entries in the two-day meet. Five national records and 36 track records were broken.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
May 22, 1960
125171013
January 27, 1963
CLICK HERE to see 8mm video footage of Amarillo Dragway in 1960s, 1963 Winternationals is on beginning of video, at 2:39 begins the Amarillo segment, 45 seconds total footage for Amarillo, no sound

Andrews County Airport (Andrews)

  • Years of Operation: 1966-69

Drag races were first held at the airport on Sunday, September 25, 1966, sanctioned by AHRA. They were held on every fourth Sunday in each month. They were sponsored by the Andrews Boys Club  with proceeds going to fund programs of the club. At the second club-race in October 1966, the feature race was "Mr. Tomatoe in his '65 Nitro-Burning Wheel-Smoking Dodge versus Humpin' Henry Jr. in his '66 Falcon powered by a redhot hemi."  At a special benefit race held on June 29, 1969, five people from Andrews who were killed in an airplane crash in 1966 were memorialized. The race was conducted by officials from Odessa Raceway Park and the Hobbs drag racing association.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Angleton Dragway/Raceway

  • Years of Operation:  2003-10

Incorporation papers for Angleton Dragway were filed on June 2, 2003, by Grace Hunsucker, Mark Clark, and Randy Hunsucker. The 1/8th-mile IHRA-sanctioned track was located east of Angleton. The first big race at the strip featured pro stocks and outlaw racers on July 12, 2003. Richard Otwell bought the strip in 2006. The track was sold to an out-of-state party, who intended to convert it to a heliport or helicopter base.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
2003
CLICK HERE to see video footage of Angleton Raceway, 2009, 1:56 minutes 

Aransas County Airport (Rockport)

  • Years of Operation: 1957-58

The Corpus Christi Timing Association conducted drag races on July 4, 1957. They used a 4,500 foot runway at the airport, that was located four miles north of the central business district of Rockport. The race was sanctioned by the Alamo Timing Association and the American Hot Rod Association. They expected to draw more than 200 entries. In May 1958, Melvin Bevly set the track record in his dragster with a 148.11 MPH clocking. On July 4, 1958, the top eliminator received an 8-foot tall trophy, claimed to be the tallest drag race trophy in the world. Bobby Langley bettered the strip record at that meet with a 151.10 MPH run.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Ascarate Park (El Paso)

  • Years of Operation: 1960-61
 
The El Paso recreation department included monies in their budget to build a drag strip. Although the initial intention was to build it for sports cars, hot rodders quickly expressed their interest in being included, too. In April 1960, $15,000 was spent to pave a half-mile straight-away. The Bel Air Optimist Club volunteered to conduct the races. The drag strip opened for racing on June 12, 1960. Races were held weekly on Sundays. They were sponsored by the El Paso Timing Association and co-sponsored by the El Paso Jaycees. Admission fees were $1 per person. However, the lack of a fence around the strip caused the strip to lose income as spectators were simply watching the racing for free. The timing association objected to the county ruling, which prevented them from putting up a fence. On May 22, 1961, the county officials decided that drag racing would not be allowed after June. They deemed that drag racing had interfered too much with the public's use of the park. While disappointing, other news at this time was more hopeful for the future of drag racing in El Paso County. An El Paso County judge proposed building a drag strip in a new county park in the Lower Valley. While the earlier county ruling against drag racing be banned after June, a drag race event was held on August 27, 1961. It attracted a large number of racers including super stock winner, Dickie Harrell in his 1961 Chevy. With that final race, Ascarate Park concluded drag racing.
 
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
June 12, 1960
CLICK HERE to see 8mm video footage of drag racing at Ascarate Park in fall 1960, movies taken by Joe Rago, 4 minutes, only music/no sound

Austin Raceway Park

  • Years of Operation: 1966-ca. 1969

The track operated every Sunday, located nine miles north of Austin at I-35 and FM 1325. It purportedly was built by Armstrong Johnson Ford dealership. The first race, held on July 23, 1966, was purportedly an NHRA divisional race. Racing concluded in its first year of operation on December 18. The timing tower was a re-purposed old oil derrick. One old fellow worked at the track as a teenager during the first season. He recalled, "I worked at ARP beginning with the first race during the summer of 1966. I got paid to sit in an old Army Jeep with an old Army walkie-talkie at the finish line and make sure no 'teenagers' got in down there. Sort of amusing considering I was 15 at the time.  When it opened, the track manager was Bob Pariss who was later replaced by Grant Verhulst. For a while, legendary San Antonio DJ Ricci Ware was the announcer. I don't recall who all was involved in the ownership part of ARP but one of my Dad's lawyer friends, Alvis Vandigriff, was one of them. He came to our house one night for dinner and mentioned in passing that he had done something crazy and invested in a drag strip being built in Austin. I just about fell out of my chair. Long story short, that's how I got the job. The track raced from south to north, north being 1325. The oil derrick was on the west side. The track was flat as a board but ran slightly downhill just past the finish line. Not good for a guy in a home-brew Vette early funny car who brought it out one night for its maiden voyage. Brakes failed, chute didn't open and he ran it straight downhill, through the barbed wire fence and clipped the tail end of an unsuspecting '57 Chevy on 1325. They guy was OK but his car was reduced to kit form." Another  old timer recalled, "One time on a regular Sunday race day the Little Red Wagon that did wheel stands and drug tail gate, got caught by the wind and was blown over." The direction of racing was towards 1325, where there was a sand trap butting right up to the road. There are different reasons given for why the race track closed after so few years in operation. One reason given is that a nearby dairy farmer may have gotten an injunction against the track because he thought his cows gave less milk the next day after a race. Another more plausible reason is that there may have been some problems with payment of taxes. Or safety concerns with cars not being able to stop and ending up or over FM 1325 might have been an issue. An encroaching business park development and housing subdivision has obliterated the old race track, except for a portion of the starting area, which is called Meadow Lane.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
September 25, 1966
125171013
Time slip from opening race on July 23,, 1966
125171013
Austin Raceway Park marked on 1971 topo map
125171013
Austin Raceway Park, 1985 aerial photo

Big Bend Drag Strip (Alpine)

  • Years of Operation: 1968

It was listed in a listing of U.S. drag strips in 1968 published in an issue of the Swedish magazine Start & Strip .
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Big Spring Drag Strip

  • Years of Operation: 1968

It was listed in a listing of U.S. drag strips in 1968 published in an issue of the Swedish magazine Start & Strip . Racing was probably conducted on a runway of the old World War II-era de-activated airfield southwest of Big Spring (now called Big Spring McMahon-Wrinkle Airport).
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Borger "Drag Strip"

  • Years of Operation: 1954

The Panhandlers Car Club scheduled a benefit drag race at a site (probably the airfield) in Borger on October 24, 1954. 80 entries were expected at the event. More research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Brazos Valley Dragway (Mineral Wells)

  • Years of Operation: 1964-68

Pete Hall and Frank Moon, owners of an asphalt company in Mineral Wells, operated this drag strip.  They also operated Wichita Falls Dragway in 1965. But in 1964, the strip garnered "Rookie Drag Strip of the Year" honors from NHRA. Jim Tibbits was the track manager from at least 1964 through 1967.  In 1965, it opened for racing on Sunday, May 2. The opener featured a match race between Doug Cook and K. S. Pittmann, a Mineral Wells native. Unfortunately the race had to be cancelled because he crashed through a fence at the track when the chute of his '33 Willys failed to open in a warm-up run. They expected over 140 entries for the opener. Trophies were awarded to winners. One old timer recalled, "Saw Stone, Woods, and Cook run off the end and into the water one weekend." One has to wonder if he was misremembering since newspapers reported that it was Pittman who crashed through the fence. Races were generally held on the first, third, and fifth Sundays. It was listed in a listing of U.S. drag strips in 1968 published in an issue of the Swedish magazine Start & Strip .
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Breckenridge "Drag Strip"

  • Years of Operation: 1964

Mr. and Mrs. Sam Ball donated a "drag strip" located eight miles north of Breckenridge to a Stephens County car club for young boys that was sponsored by Bob Elliott Ford Company. More research is needed to determine the years of operation and exact location of the strip.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.

Bruce Field (Ballinger)

  • Years of Operation: 1958

The Turtles car club obtained permission to use a 3,000-foot long and 75-foot wide runway at the airport owned by the city of Ballinger for drag racing by club members in September 1958. The city and county helped improve the strip. The Runnels County Auto Club conducted the opening meet on November 9, 1958. There were nine car classes, two motorcycle classes and top eliminators for each division. Trophies were awarded to the winners.
 
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Caddo Mills Drag Strip

125171013
  • Years of Operation: 1951-68

In about 1950, the Chaparral Roadster Club of Dallas received permission to conduct drag races on a new stretch of Hampton Road in Dallas. In Caddo Mills, 25 miles north of Dallas, was an abandoned World War II military emergency landing airstrip. The Roadster Club made arrangements to rent it from the town of Caddo Mills and hold races on the first Sunday of the month. The abandoned airstrip was located two miles southwest of Caddo Mills, just off Highway 67. The old concrete airstrip was in the shape of a triangle, 6,000 feet on each side. The first race was held on August 19, 1951, with 56 competing entrants and reportedly thousands of spectators. Timing was done using stopwatches. It was the first NHRA-sanctioned drag strip in Texas and the second NHRA-sanctioned drag strip in the United States. On October 30, 1954, they held the North Texas Championship, drawing 150 competitors from Texas and Oklahoma. In 1955, races were held on the first Saturday and Sunday of every month. At a two-day NHRA regional event held June 9-10, 1956, Oklahoma dirt contractor Melvin Heath turned the top speed of 139 MPH in his Chrysler-powered dragster. Heath would be NHRA's national champion in 1956. The North Texas Timing Association conducted races at the Caddo Mills airport strip in 1957-61. Don Garlits ran at Caddo Mills in 1958, on what he remembered was a "high-traction concrete surface." Bobby Langley's "Scorpion" A/FD was one of the featured racers at a May 7, 1961, race. Langley established the track record in 1961 with a run of 184.61 MPH in 8.38 seconds. On June 3, 1962, a regional meet was staged on a Sunday race. It was operating under NHRA sanction in the 1960s. Bill Hassell was the track manager in 1967.
1952
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
CLICK HERE to see 8mm video footage of Caddo Mills in 1962, 6 minutes, no sound

Camp Bowie

  • Years of Operation: 1957-58

The Cheapskate's Automotive Club conducted the first drag on July 28, 1957. A drag race was planned to be held on October 6, 1957, to benefit the Brown County Community Chest. It was to be conducted just west of the National Guard Fieldhouse. They were charging 25 cents admission and $1 per race vehicle. On March 9, 1958, the first race of that season was held on the quarter-mile track located northeast of the Fieldhouse. In April 1958, complaints of unauthorized racing on the drag strip was being reported to the Brown County sheriff's office. Officers said that if the racing continued, it could be caused for the strip to be permanently closed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
March 9, 1958

Castroville Municipal Airfield

  • Years of Operation: 1957-58

The Alamo Timing Association held a drag race on February 10, 1957. They charged $1 donation, with $1000 from the proceeds donated to the polio and March of Dimes charities. 2,500 people watched 230 entries. Bobby Joe Rutledge took top eliminator in his Ardun-Merc with a run of 123.11 MPH. The success of the race encouraged hope for monthly racing. However the next documented race was held on October 27, 1957. On March 23, 1958, Schrank & Rodriguez set a speed record in their Desoto-powered dragster with a run of 143.31 MPH. There were only 24 cars entered in the races.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Cavalier's Drag Strip (Vernon)

  • Years of Operation: 1957

The drag strip, operated by the Cavalier's car club, was three miles south of Vernon. They charged 50 cents admission, with racing each Sunday. The date of the first race is not known, but there was a race held on July 14, 1957.  More research is needed.
125171013
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
1957

Cedar Hill Drag Strip

  • Years of Operation: 1958-68

Carroll Hill was the owner of this drag strip, located two miles south of Cedar Hill on U.S. Highway 67. The Duncanville Jaycees sponsored a drag race at this strip on Sunday, December 3, 1961. Trophies and savings bonds were awarded as prizes. At the race on December 10, 400 spectators watched 76 cars at the event. $150 was awarded to winners in three different categories at these races. Admission to the races was $1. On March 23, 1962, Gary Crumpler, age 18, was killed after just finishing a time trial run. He was traveling about 85 MPH when he missed the exit road, continued on the dirt road at the end of the asphalt, and slammed into a dirt mound. He overturned four times. A friend riding in the car with him was injured, but not seriously. It was his first drag race and had told his parents that he was only going to the strip to watch. One old time racer recalled there was a big dip in the track about half way down that gave racers (and their cars) quite a jolt. In 1967, there was a fatal stabbing at the strip during an argument. In early 1968, neighbors complained about the noise at the strip. The matter came before the Cedar Hill Board of Adjustments who ruled in favor of the drag strip. George Hill told the board that he would halt all racing by midnight on Friday nights and on Sunday afternoon.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
125171013
December 3, 1961
1958
CLICK HERE to see 8mm video footage of Cedar Hill Drag Strip, 5:46 minutes

Cherokee County Motorsports Park ​(Rusk)

125171013
  • Years of Operation: 2004-8?

This quarter-mile NHRA-sanctioned drag strip was built by Johnny Isaacs in 2004. Ken and Molly Hall operated the track. It was located about two miles south of Rusk. At the NHRA Division 4 Lucas Oil race in mid-June 2004, Ashley Force captured the first NHRA win of her career in a top alcohol dragster. In the process she set a track record with a run of 5.453 at 259.36 MPH. In mid-June 2005, the strip hosted an NHRA Division 4 Lucas Oil event. Steve Torrence won top alcohol dragster. In 2006, it was reported that Adam Attaway, along with Red River Raceway owners, Ken and Molly Hall, had leased the Cherokee County Motorsports Park, and would be operating it under NHRA sanction. Spencer Massey won the TAD class at the Lucas Oil event in 2006.  In mid-May 2007, the strip again hosted a 2-day NHRA Lucas Oil series event. It is not known when this strip closed, but the last documentation found was in 2008. More research is needed.
July 2, 2005
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
CLICK HERE to see video footage of Cherokee County Motorsports Park, 2008, 1:59 minutes

Cherry Racing Arena (Paris)

125171013
  • Years of Operation: 1955-56

The Cherry Racing Arena reportedly had a drag strip in combination with its oval track. They held an opening day drag race on September 18, 1955. The racing complex was located 2.5 miles west of Paris, Texas, on Highway 82.  It was  owned by Tom Cherry, who advertised for a promoter or to lease the business in 1956. It was called Cherry's Speedway in 1956. More research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
April 7-8, 1956

Childress Drag Strip

125171013
  • Years of Operation: 1965-68

NHRA-sanctioned drag races were held on a runway at Childress Municipal Airport, located four miles west of Childress. The first drag race that research found was held on Sunday, April 18, 1965. Trophies were awarded to class winners. Races were sponsored by the Childress Volunteer Fire Department. On August 8, 1965, 500 people watched Raybern Ott take Street Eliminator in 13.03 ET at 107.52 MPH. In 1967 races were held on the second Sunday with the track managed by Charles Mock. It was listed in a listing of U.S. drag strips in 1968 published in an issue of the Swedish magazine Start & Strip.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
May 9, 1965

Circle Drag Strip (Dallas)

  • Years of Operation: ca. 1959
 
Old racers recall that this old drag strip was west of Interstate 635, south of Royal Lane on or about Goodnight Lane. It was dearly lacking in any safety features with spectators able to stand right next to the start line and no guard rails. One old timer recalled the primitive way the races were run:  "The timing was by a guy at the start line on a phone to a guy at the finish line. He shouted 'GO' on the phone when they started (by flag of course!) and the finish line guy started a stopwatch. He used a chart when he read the stopwatch finish result to
estimate the MPH which he announced over a crappy PA speaker about as good as a drive-in theatre speaker. Also said which lane won.
The strip was an old crowned 2-lane blacktop road down between gravel pits and had a winding gravel return road back to the dirt/sand 'pit' area by the start line." Another old time racer remembered "a tree in the middle of the shut down area." More research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Clear Springs Air Strip (New Braunfels)

  • Years of Operation: 1956-59

In June 1956, the New Braunfels Junior Chamber of Commerce began investigating the possibility of building a drag strip in order to reduce street racing. They obtained use of the Clear Springs Air Strip and began conducting races there in about October 1956. The runway was a mile long with an asphalt surface. The racing, held on the third Sunday of each month, was sanctioned by NHRA. The second race was held on November 18, 1956. They had electric timing clocks and awarded trophies to 27 class winners. The air strip may have been on the site of what is today the New Braunfels Regional Airport, located four miles east of New Braunfels. It was activated in 1944. However 1956 news reports stated that the air strip was located off State Highway 25, five miles south of New Braunfels and seven miles north of Seguin. This does not match the location of today's New Braunfels airport. Aerial photos show what appears to be faint remnants of a landing strip just north of the Bandit Golf Club, and just west of Highway 725. This fits the 1956 directions to the old airstrip, but more research is needed. On March 24, 1957, the Schranck Brothers B/MR from San Antonio took top speed of the meet with a clocking of 106.11 MPH. The Central Texas Racing Association conducted the races on the third Sunday of the month in 1959.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Collette's Drag Strip (Dayton)

  • Years of Operation:  1960s

Research in newspapers has uncovered very little about this drag strip, but lots of racers have jotted down their memories of the strip on the Internet. The only reference found related to an incident when several people working in the concessions at the drag strip were arrested. The newspaper reports stated that several were charged with selling beer to minors on April 8, 1962. Paul Dewey Collette was apparently the owner of the strip. The drag strip was reported to be 5 miles west of Dayton off Highway 90.   One old racer recalled the track, "It was kinda short with about 200 yards of paved shut down until you run off onto the dirt. They later paved some more shutdown but failed to tell anybody that it had loose pea gravel yet to be packed into the tar. Some folks took some wild rides that day." Another drag racer verified the business about the shutdown area:  "I never went to the track in Dayton with the gravel shutdown, but my neighbor ran a '61 Vette there and showed us some video when I was a kid. Nothing but a cloud of dust once the cars passed the finish line."  Another racer from Beaumont recalled his years racing there in the early 1960s before going into the service in 1964:  "  I put many a pass on that track in my '55 Chevy when I was a wee lad of 17.. I watched another '55 Chevy (I/G, I think) inline 6 powered, get loose at about half track and roll several times.. They carried the driver off in an ambulance."  And yet another racer recalled:   "We ran a X/MP sports car and took out all the end barbed wire fence one Sunday. Ran there about 5-6 times- The pea gravel end was just to much for us to deal with."  Racer Ken Olson remembered: "I remember the strip at Dayton super well. Ran there a lot of times. Was easy for me, as I had the only competition car, B/A . . . . Guy's name that ran it, a Cajun guy by the name of Collette. We would toss down a beer, make a run, and hang on in the gravel. Ran there in 60 and 61."
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Commerce Municipal Airport

  • Years of Operation: 1962-63

The Commerce Hot Rod Club began holding Sunday drag races at the airport several weeks prior to June 17, 1962. At the race on that date, they awarded eleven trophies to class winners. They were in the process of getting insurance. On June 15, 1962, the Commerce city commission granted the Draggin' Dragoons car club the use of the airport for two to three more weeks. The car club had assured them that they were going to build their own drag strip. In fact, land had been obtained for the drag strip near the Eagle Grove community three miles north of Commerce. Funds were being raised to build the strip. But in the mean time, the club was grateful that the city allowed them to race at the airport. On May 10, 1963, drag races were held at the airport in conjunction with East Texas State College's Freshman Day. One old racer recalled a strip near Commerce:  "Wierdest old drag strip I recall was out near Commerce in East Texas, paved with torn-off asphalt roofing shingles. Pretty good traction for the amount of power that any of us had back 40 or 50 years ago."
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Como/Midway Drag Strip

  • Years of Operation:  ca. 1967-ca. 1980s

This drag strip was operating at least by 1967, if not before.  Robert Gilman died in a fatal racing accident at a meet on June 10, 1967. The frame of his modified T-bucket broke by the front wheels causing it to pole vault and  overturn.  He died in a Greenville hospital shortly after the accident.  He was from Irving, Texas, and liked to run on the little outlaw strips. In 1968 it was called Midway Drag Strip. Benny Blundell managed the track then, running every Saturday night. Cash awards were given to all the eliminator winners. John Rains was killed in a fatal racing accident at the strip on August 17, 1968.  In general, it was located southeast of Sulphur Springs on Highway 11, between Como and Pickton. It was locally called Como-Pickton Drag Strip. Larry Wade owned the strip in the 1980s. The old strip is still visible across Highway 11 from the Como-Pickton high school.
125171013
1968
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Corpus Christi "Drag Strip"

  • Years of Operation: 1957-61

The Corpus Christi Timing Association conducted races beginning at least in 1957, but more information is needed. They held races on the last Sunday of the month in 1959. In 1961, races were conducted by the National Racing Affiliates of Corpus Christi. 1961 races were held on the second and fourth Sunday of each month.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.

Corpus Christi Drag Raceway

  • Years of Operation: 1969-77
 
Opening drag races were held on May 17-18, 1969, at Cuddihy Field, attracting over 300 entries. Located seven miles southwest of Corpus Christi, the airstrip had a 5,000 foot long asphalt runway that was 100 feet wide. The drag strip ran due north-south, with an adjacent circle track to the east. The airstrip, constructed in 1943, started operating as a quarter-mile track under NHRA sanction. On the second day of the opening event, there were 8,200 spectators. They saw Bennie Osborn take top eliminator honors with a top speed of 211.76 MPH in 6.92 seconds. Low ET was set by Watus Simpson of Arlington, driving for Vance Hunt, with a 6.91 ET at 212.24 MPH. In 1970-71, it operated under AHRA sanction. In 1972, it was an IHRA sanctioned operation, hosting a 2-day world points and record meet on April 29-30. In 1975, wheelstanding showman Gary Watson ("Paddy Wagon") leased the track and served as its promoter. On March 2, 1975, he booked Shirley Muldowney and Tommy Ivo for a match race. Watson didn't renew the lease in 1978, so 1977 was the final season.
125171013
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
October 10, 1971
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
CLICK HERE to see funny car racing at Corpus Christi Drag Raceway in 1971, 6 minutes, music only/no sound

Dalhart "Drag Strip"

  • Years of Operation: 1956-58

Drag races were held on a runway at the Dalhart Municipal Airport southeast of town, but more research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Dallas "Drag Strip"

  • Years of Operation: 1954-55

A state championship drag race was held in the Dallas area in early 1954.  Although Yello Belly Drag Strip is in the greater Dallas metro area, it was purportedly established in 1955. More research is needed to identify the location of this circa 1954 drag strip.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.

Dallas International Motor Speedway

  • Years of Operation: 1969-73

This multi-million-dollar racing plant was built on a 380-acre site south of Lewisville. It was scheduled to have its drag strip completed in mid-May 1969, in time to host the NHRA Springnationals on June 13-15. One of its unique features was a $50,000 four-level glass-paneled timing tower. It had grandstand seating for 12,000 and lighting for Saturday night drag racing. Later, a 2.5-mile road course was added, followed by a quarter-mile dirt course for motorcycle racing.The final day of racing at the '69 Springnationals was marred when funny car driver Gerry Schwartz was killed during a mid-track collision with Pat Foster who was driving Mickey Thompson's Mach I Mustang.  The accident was witnessed by an estimated 25,000 spectators. Hank Westmoreland won top fuel in his "Beachcomber" dragster and Danny Ongais, Foster's teammate, won funny car. On October 25-26, 1969, the speedway hosted the NHRA World Finals. It repeated as host for the World Finals in 1970. The NHRA staged its Springnationals there on June 11-13, 1971. The top eliminators in the pro categories were Don Garlits, Don Schumacher, and Ronnie Sox. After that event, track management offered the financially-troubled strip to NHRA to purchase. They declined and the owners leased the track to IHRA. That forced NHRA to relocate the World Finals to Amarillo on short notice, IHRA held races at DIMS from September 1971 until it closed in
1973.  One other horrific fatal accident occurred on October 16, 1971 when Art Arfons's "Super Cyclops" jet dragster killed Gene Thomas, a Dallas TV news host, and two IHRA emergency crewmen.  Arfons had built a second seat on his dragster to have passengers ride along with him. Thomas was riding with Arfons when a rear tire blew, causing the dragster to crash through a guardrail and strike the emergency crewmnen. That was the last time Arfons drove a jet dragster. The last big race before the track closed was the IHRA Longhorn National Championships on April 27-29, 1973. A series of event rainouts, debt issues, and track maintenance costs combined to force the track into bankruptcy. The property was purchased for commercial development and the facilities were demolished. No trace of the racing complex remains at the site today.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
125171013
125171013
1969 and 1970 NHRA World Finals postcards and DIMS decal. Courtesy of David Graves
CLICK HERE to see TV video footage of Gerry Schwartz's fatal crash at 1969 NHRA Spring Nationals at Dallas International Motor Speedway, June 15, 1969, 1:09 minutes
CLICK HERE to see clip from "For Love or Money" film made for TV of 1970 NHRA World Finals at Dallas International Motor Speedway, 1:16 minutes

Desert Thunder Raceway (Midland)

  • Years of Operation: 2005-14

Mike and Becky Waldrop built this 1/8th-mile concrete drag strip in 2005 between Odessa and Midland. Jimmy Farmer was leasing it from the Waldrops. Farmer had to give up the lease because he couldn't get any hired help at reasonable wages. In the oil-rich area, workers wouldn't settle for anything less than oil-field wages, which made it unfeasible to continue the racing operation.  Not interested in operating the track, the Waldrops sold the land to developers who intended to turn it into a business park.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
CLICK HERE to see video footage of Desert Thunder Raceway, 2011, 1:24 minutes

Dolaca Motorplex (Meadow)

  • Years of Operation:  2002-4

The Terry County Air Force Auxiliary Airfield (later called Reese Auxiliary Airfield), built in 1960, closed by at least 1997.  The old airfield was about eight miles west of Meadow. IHRA-sanctioned quarter-mile drag races began in 2002. The first race was held on Sunday, July 7, 2002. 1,200 people showed up for opening day.    Phil Cornell , one of the sponsors of the strip, said, "When Reese closed a local crop duster in Levelland bought it [the auxiliary airfield] so he wouldn't have to ferry loads all the way from Levelland to the Brownfield area to spray. As you can tell, it was a lot more facility than any FLEET of crop dusters would need. He was just landing on the taxiway, which is nicer than most small airports around here. A friend of his saw it one day & mentioned that it would be a good drag strip. I'm not sure of the exact specs but I believe the first half mile of it is concrete, 36 inches deep & 150 feet wide. No civilian could afford to build that today. So, because of the construction it is a very fast drag strip that needs virtually no maintenance." Ross Day was the local crop duster who bought the airfield.  Dolaca was an acronym for his family's names: DO (wife Donna), LA (LaShawn, daughter), and CA (Calvin, son). One of the drawbacks to the track was the dirt access road leading to the track from the highway. It is not known if that was ever paved prior to the track's closure.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Double Eagle Drag Strip/San Antonio Drag Raceway (Kirby)

  • Years of Operation: 1956-70

Drag races were held every Sunday at this old drag strip in Kirby (near San Antonio), Texas. The first newspaper advertisements found were for a drag race at the "new strip" held on May 13, 1956, although there may have been races at an earlier date. In fact, newspaper articles written many years later claimed that the track was built in 1955, the first drag strip specifcally built in Texas for drag racing. Admission was $1, with no additional charge to race. Military personnel in uniform were admitted for half price.  The directions in the 1956 newspaper stated that it was three miles from San Antonio off Loop 13, east on Farm Road 1976, to between Kirby and Converse. Chuck and Shirley Oliver managed the track for owners Bill and Dorothy McClure, who owned a dairy farm outside Fort Worth. The site of the old drag strip is mostly covered by a housing development today, located off Gibbs Sprawl Road between Rittiman Road and Walzem Road. On August 30, 1956, local car clubs met to discuss forming a South Texas Timing Association to sponsor the racing. At the race on October 7, 1956, Santos Gonzales garnered the top speed with a clocking of 95 MPH in his 1928 Ford roadster. On November 17, 1957, Howard Varnon took top eliminator honors in his A/G 1932 Ford, clocking 99 MPH. Tommy Gibson garnered top eliminator on December 15, 1957 with a run of 115 MPH. Bennie Cass drove 95 MPH to garner top eliminator in his A fueler on February 16, 1958. Someone deliberately set fire to the drag strip ticket office on March 18, 1958, and was seen driving away in a 1953 station wagon. On February 8, 1959, they held a March of Dimes benefit race at the airfield. The strip was renamed San Antonio Drag Raceway (or San Antonio Drag Strip) at the beginning of the 1961 season. Cecil Lankford copped top eliminator in his A dragster on January 29, 1961, with a speed of 134.289 in his Chrysler. The strip started racing on Friday nights on May 19, 1961, with trophies awarded in 95 classes.. They suspended racing on Sundays during the summer and only raced on Friday nights. On September 10, 1961, the South Texas 1/8th-mile drag championships were held. Walt Arfons drove his "Green Monster 16" jet to a clocking of 204.540 MPH in 7.82 seconds on November 11, 1962. In the mid-1960s, under track manager John Durand, the strip brought in some of drag racing's leading lights for exhibition features including Don Garlits, K. S. Pittman, "Hurst Hemi Under Glass" wheelstander, Art Malone, Don Nicholson, Bill "Maverick" Golden's "Little Red Wagon," Dickie Harrell, Tommy Ivo, Don Gay, Shirley Shahan, Stone-Woods & Cook, Romeo Palamides, etc. By 1966, the track record was 209 MPH held by Don Garlits. On January 5, 1969, Larry Reed was killed when his car went out of control and overturned. It was the first serious accident at the track in a decade. But then another death occurred later that same year when Fred Burdett, age 26, was killed when his car overturned during time trials. 1969 was not a good year. Every year the track hosted AHRA regional events and record runs. The track closed its gates in late 1970.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
March 29, 1959
125171013
March 3, 1963
125171013
February 20, 1966

Eagle Mountain Lake National Guard Base

  • Years of Operation: 1953-56, 1958-59, 1961

Drag races were held on a regular basis at least by late 1953 on the 6,000-foot long runway on the base at Eagle Mountain near Newark. Members of the Knight Riders car club from Arlington raced there for several months in 1953. The races were sponsored by the Tarrant County Modified Automobile Association, an association comprised of almost forty car clubs. By 1955, races were being held every other Sunday. With profits from the gate receipts, the association had purchased a timing device for $1000, weight scales, and a public address system. On July 27, 1958, the Striker Car Club conducted a drag race at the base. Spectators were charged $1 for admission and top eliminator received a $100 savings bond.  Races were sanctioned by NHRA in 1959-61 and held on the second and fourth Sundays. On July 25, 1959, the NHRA Mid-Summer Championship Drag Races were held on the base. The base had a unique history, beginning as a training facility for Marine Corps amphibious gliders during the war. After the war, it served as a base for various military and commercial endeavors, until being acquired by the  Texas National Guard in 1956. In 1959, the base became an Army Airfield and then followed a succession of changes in ownership leading up to the early 1980s when it was purchased by Kenneth Copeland Ministries, the organization that owns it today (2015).
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Eastex Dragway (Porter)

  • Years of Operation:  circa 1965-early 1990s?

Although it was often associated with Porter in write-ups, it was really in today's Kingwood, in the vicinity of the Kingwood Manor Elementary School. The strip ran through the housing subdivision to the east of the school. The starting line butted up against the railroad tracks just to its west, that parallel Highway 494. Research has found very little in newspapers about the strip. Bill Sanford was one of the original owners. The spectator stands were on the right side of the strip. One old timer who raced in the 1970s remembered Eastex fondly, "I loved that track, full of pine trees and BBQ pits." Another old racer recalled, "Porter was cool. But the tower side had a scary woopdeedoo at the top end. Then the return road was another obstacle full of pot holes and chick bones."   Another racer remembered an added excitement coming back on the return road:  "That return road was sure close to the crowd. Some of them would let you know it if you got beat and didn't cover their bet!"  On April 30, 1983, the dragway made news when a fight broke out at the strip between rival motorcycle gangs, leaving one person dead. The track was hosting what was billed as a national drag race for bikers. Violence broke out between the Bandidos and Banshees. The fight resulted in the shooting death of John Bachelor of Houston. More research is needed to determine the years of operation and details of its history.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
CLICK HERE to see 8mm video footage of EasTex Dragway, 1960s, Part 1, 9:32 minutes, no sound/music only
CLICK HERE to see 8mm video footage of EasTex Dragway, 1960s, Part 2, 8:50 minutes, no sound/music only
CLICK HERE to see video footage of EasTex Dragway, 1970s, 1:29 minutes, no sound

Edinburg Drag Strip

  • Years of Operation: 1962

This NHRA-sanctioned track held races on the second Sunday.  More research is needed to uncover the location and range of years of operation.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.

Edinburg Speedway

  • Years of Operation: ca. 1972-present

There were races on April 23 and May 7 in 1972 at this track nine miles north of Edinburg on Highway 281. The races took place at the Edinburg Airport. Races were conducted every other Sunday, drawing between 4,500 and 5,000 spectators. Don Garlits raced there on December 28, 1975. It continues to operate as Edinburg Raceway, an IHRA quarter-mile track.
125171013
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
December 28, 1975
CLICK HERE to see photo slide show of Edinburg International Speedway drag racing, early 1970s, photos by James Foerster, 4 minutes

El Paso "Drag Strip"

  • Years of Operation: 1954

A drag strip near El Paso was only one of five drag strips that were sanctioned by NHRA in 1954.  More research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.

El Paso International Dragway/Thunder Alley Dragway

  • Years of Operation: 1969-2004

This track, owned by John Barnett, originally was built some time after 1962, intended as a private airstrip for Barnett's plane. It was called Hueco Airport. In 1968, after attending some auto races in Mexico, Barnett got an idea to operate a drag strip at the airport site. The 2,600 foot asphalt track opened for racing on Sunday, August 17, 1969, running just grudge races. On August 24, they awarded trophies to class winners, despite not having timing clocks yet. Alan Culpepper was the track manager and starting flagman. Carl Bennett set the track record in the first season in his Mustang funny car with a time of 8.15 ET at 185 MPH. By 1996, the track was no longer doubling as a landing field and the track had been lengthened to 3,600 feet. Research found little about El Paso Dragway after circa 1977-80. During the 1970s, the track put on an energetic program featuring funny cars, top fueler, jet dragsters and wheelstanding exhibition cars. At some time prior to the early 1990s, the track was called Thunder Alley Dragway. In the 1980s it was called Sun City Dragway and may have been called West Texas Motorsports Park at some time in its history.  It was closed probably by the mid-1990s, lay dormant, then about 2003, opened again briefly, but closed for good probably about 2004. Research after 1980 lacks documentation to give accurate information, so much of this later history is conjectural; more research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
September 28, 1969
CLICK HERE to see video footage of Thunder Alley Dragway, 1992, 18:14 minutes

Ellington Air Force Base (Houston)

  • Years of Operation: 1956

A multi-day drag race held at the airport in September 1956 reportedly attracted almost 75,000 people. One old timer , recalled, "Back in the mid fifties, before there was any drag strip around Houston, the GHTA (Greater Houston Timing Association) was formed. We put on a pretty big, one time, drag race at Ellington field between Houston and Galveston. It drew big enough crowds to get the ball rolling for a permanent strip." The base was located fifteen miles southeast of downtown Houston. The air field opened in 1917 as a military field. The city of Houston purchased the airport on 1984.  More research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Enchantment Park (El Paso)

  • Years of Operation: 1957-58

At the old El Paso Speedway, a 45-foot wide 3,000-foot long paved quarter-mile drag strip was built between the grandstand and the 3/8-mile clay oval. The finish line was in front of the grandstand. Ads gave directions as being six miles from the Hilton Hotel in El Paso on Highway 80 West, through Smeltertown. The first race was held on April 28, 1957. More than 2000 people watched 80 race cars at this opening race. General admission was 75 cents and $1 for a pit pass, but racers were not charged an entry fee for this opener. There was a dance following the race. The Southwest Timing Association conducted the races. The next race was held on May 5. On June 16, 1957, they held the first Sunday evening night race. They had lights extending the length of the strip. One thousand people watched 55 cars in six classes. On Mother's Day in 1958, all mothers were admitted free.  As of late 1958, George Brazil held the track record at 137 MPH.
125171013
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
May 5, 1957
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
125171013
125171013