Heading 3

Drag Strip List

A Comprehensive Encyclopedia

HOME
LOCATION
MEMORIES
ABOUT
CONTACT

NEW HAMPSHIRE

125171013
Pease Air Force Base (Newington) (1953)
Laconia Municipal Airport (1954)
New England Dragway (Epping) (1966)
Bryar Motorsports Park (Loudon) (1967)
 
Model A A/Gasser running at Thompson Dragway in New Hampshire in the early 1970s. Photographer unknown

Bryar Motorsports Park (Loudon)

  • Years of Operation: 1967

Keith Bryar owned this multi-purpose racing track that included a road course and oval track. On Saturday, June 17, 1967, motorcycle drag races were held in conjunction with a 100-mile national championship race. These national races were held annually. The drag race was held on a lighted course inside the Bryar speedway grounds.. The races were conducted by track officials and the Merrimac Ramblers Motrocycle Club of Concord. The oval  track closed in 1989 and was razed to make way for the New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

Laconia Municipal Airport 

  • Years of Operation: 1954

In November 1954, the New England Hot Rod Council reportedly received permission to hold drag races on the Laconia Airport.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map

New England Dragway (Epping)

  • Years of Operation: 1966-present
 
The first race was held on September 11, 1966. A racer, Bruce Cox, was killed on August 11, 1968, when his vehicle left the track, flipped over, and slammed into a utility pole. The New England Hot Rod Council (NEHRC) initiated racing at the Sanford, Maine, airport in the mid-1950s. Excerpt from history on the New England Dragway's official website :  "As the mid-sixties approached, members of the NEHRC knew they needed to find a permanent home.  They began searching for land suitable enough to construct a permanent drag strip.  In 1963 Council members began talking with local realtors in the seacoast region of New Hampshire.  They wanted a piece of land that was about a mile long.  'When we told realtors about our requirements, they laughed and said good luck,' explained New England Dragway, Inc., Treasurer Ed Bernier.  One realtor didn’t laugh, though and took the folks from New Hampshire seriously.  Within a few weeks real estate agent Ben D’Agostino called with some good news. 'D’Agostino found some land that would meet our needs.  But, he had to do some work because it consisted of two separate parcels owned by different people, in two abutting towns. One piece was owned by the Trefetherens and the other by a guy who lived on an island off the coast of South Carolina.  We took a look at the land and told him to go for it,' said Bernier.
The location was ideal.  It was relatively close to Boston and other major population centers of eastern New England.  Route 27, the road passing along the front of New England Dragway was easily accessed off Route 95. That meant an easy haul for most of the former NEHRC members and racers.  It also provided a significant spectator base to draw upon.  Both towns (Epping and Brentwood) were receptive to the prospect of a major tourist attraction.  Thousands of yards of dirt were moved as heavy equipment thrashed away to get the track ready for a September opening in 1966.  While crews were taking care of the roads and track surface, shareholders were wheeling and dealing to find what it would take to make opening day a success.  Stockholders logged countless man-hours dismantling used bleachers, hauling them to Epping and reassembling them.   Crews built a tower, installed fencing and applied more than a few gallons of paint.  It turned out to be a tremendous effort.  On September 11, 1966, New England Dragway was ready to open the gates for the first race.  Today, New England Dragway, still owned by many of the racers who built it along with a new crop of shareholders, is the only 1/4 mile drag strip in New England.  It is open four days a week from the beginning of April through the end of October featuring everything from grudge racing to world class events like the its annual NHRA New England Nationals.
Following it’s credo, 'Built by racers for racers,' New England Dragway continues improving its facility in order to keep pace with a new generation of racers who bring faster and more complex machines to race at its legendary quarter mile.  New grandstands have replaced many of the old bleachers purchased used from a Massachusetts university. It’s old PA system gave way to a state of the art sound system featuring Bose acoustics.  In 2010 the concrete pad was extended from 745 feet to 1320 feet followed by a specialized finishing process to make the entire quarter mile smooth and fast."
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map
CLICK HERE to see video footage of New England Dragway, 1986, 9:59 minutes
CLICK HERE to see brief 8mm video footage of New England Dragway, produced by James Amos, pan to 2:50 minute mark through 3:14 minute mark
CLICK HERE to listen to hilarious old screaming radio promotional ads for New England Dragway, pan to minute marks of 2:40, 5:38, and 11:11 to hear them

Pease Air Force Base (Newington)

  • Years of Operation: 1953

The base briefly allowed the New England Hot Rod Council to hold drag races on the runway. There were purportedly two meets in September 1953. The airfield was just south of the town of Newington. The air field is today's Portsmouth International Airport at Pease.  More research is needed.
Did you race here? Tell us about it.
CLICK HERE to see location on a map